BMVC 2015

Proceedings of the 7th UK British Machine Vision Workshop (BMVW) 2015

Editor: Gary K. L. Tam BMVA Press, September 2015, ISBN 1-901725-58-8


The British Machine Vision Student Workshop (BMVW) takes place in the afternoon of the 10th September 2015. The workshop has become a regular feature of British Machine Vision Conference. It provides an excellent opportunity for postgraduate students in computer vision to present their on-going research, to network and to start collaborations with other students. Furthermore, students have the opportunity to attend keynote sessions about hot topics in the field presented by experienced researcher. The workshop is a single track containing oral presentations. All accepted papers will be digitally published on-line at the BMVA website. Traditionally, BMVW workshop only accepted student submissions from British institutions. This year we also encourage student submissions from institutions outside UK. Priority is given to student participants from UK institutions, however.

This year, there are 11 (6 UK and 5 Non-UK) submissions to BMVW2015. Non-UK submissions come from Africa (20), North America (20), and Asia (60), according to the first author's affiliation. 5 papers were accepted for oral presentations. We also have record number of reviewers (32). Each paper was reviewed by exactly 4 reviewers. We gratefully thank all reviewers for providing punctual and insightful reviews for the very smooth running of BMVW2015. We are grateful to our keynote speaker Prof. Mark Nixon (University of Southampton) who is an expert in Biometrics. We are also delighted to have Dr Adeline Paiement (Bristol University) to give an invited postdoc talk, covering not only technical research, but also her experience on PhD and Post-doc life.

Gary K. L. Tam,
BMVW organiser


Ashish Gupta Ohio State University
Dengxin Dai ETH Zurich
David Fouhey CMU
David Ferstl Graz University of Technology
Erik Rodner Friedrich Schiller University of Jena
Guillaume Bourmaud University of Bordeaux
Gernot Riegler Graz University of Technology
Heng Yang University of Cambridge
Hamid Izadinia Washington University
Jan Knopp KU Leuven
Jingjing Zheng University of Maryland
Junhua Mao UCLA
Karel Lebeda University of Surrey
Kevin Shih Univeristy of Illinois
Karan Sikka UCSD
Mohamed Elhoseiny Rutgers University
Ming Jiang NUS
Mark Hansen University West of England
Massimo Camplani Univeristy of Bristol
Michael Sapienza University of Oxford
Nazli FarajiDavar University of Surrey
Osian Haines Univeristy of Bristol
Pablo Alcantarilla Georgia Institute of Technology
Ruixuan Wang University of Dundee
Shenping Zhang Harbin Institute
Simone Buoncompagni University of Bologna
Varun Nagaraja University of Maryland
Vinay Venkataraman Arizona State University
Violet Snell Southampton Solent University
Wenbin Li University of Bath
Yin Li Georgia Tech
Zhi Yang University of Buffalo